Book Review: I Found You by NYT Bestselling author @LisaJewellUK

Book review of I Found You by Lisa Jewell available in Canada April 25, 2017.

book-review-i-found-you-lisa-jewell-heatherinheelsblog

I read this book, no that’s not right, I devoured this book on the beach in Cuba at Christmas. This book captured me from the start and had me sitting up perched on the edge of my beach lounger with a tear in my eye captivated right to the end.

Synopsis courtesy of Simon & Schuster Canada:

“A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (Daily Mail, London) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.”

I Found You was definitely one of the best books I’ve read in a while. It’s not big headed, and it doesn’t leave you wiser or more empowered to tackle life. What it does is totally carry you away. The author so brilliantly twists and weaves a tale like an onion, so layered, so stinging, that you can’t help put pause every once in a while to simply say ‘whoa’ out loud. Which I did multiple times.

I read my fair share of mysteries and who-done-its and am usually quite good at decoding the mystery as I read. In I Found You, Lisa Jewell so expertly drops the best little truth bombs and then immediately re-sets the stage leaving you breathless and almost shattered with uncertainty as new twists emerge and your brain is close to short circuiting from the overdrive the author stimulates.

If it weren’t for the lure of the sun and ocean I could have inhaled this book in one sitting. If you enjoy suspense, romance, and haunting mystery I Found You should definitely be on your summer reading list.

If you’d like to see more book reviews, I’ve got a bunch of them perfect for your reading list.

Happy Reading!

Disclosure: Being a Simon & Schuster Advance Reader means I receive uncorrected advance reader proof copies of books every so often. And every so often I really enjoy one of those books, so I decide to write a review post. I’m not asked to do so, and I don’t get paid. I do it because we should all read more:)…and it’s my website and I can do what I want:)

Leave a Reply